Community Service at Edendale Hospital KZN

 

I recently met up with Monique Godfrey. She is currently placed at Edendale Hospital in KZN and this is what she had to say about it:

Where are you currently based?
I am currently based at Edendale Hospital in Pietermaritzburg KZN.

Where did you graduate from?
I graduated from the University of Cape Town.

What made you consider Speech Language Pathology as a career path?
I have always wanted to work in the hospital environment. It allows me to expand
my knowledge on a daily basis and help people in need. The best feeling for me is
making a positive difference in someones life – even if it has the smallest impact…

What areas of interest were sparked for you during your studies?
Dysphagia is definitely one of the highlights for me.

Has this changed in your Com Serve year? If so, how?
It has made me love it even more…

Was your current placement your first choice?
It was not my first choice. I wanted to be closer to family. However, I feel that in
the end I was very fortunate to be placed at Edendale. I have gotten a
tremendous amount of experience working here and I know many people are not as
fortunate as me at their placement. I have gotten more exposure and clinical
experience than I ever imagined was possible in a com serve placement.

Tell me a little about where you are:
I am placed in Pietermaritzburg, which is just a little inland from Durban. It is a
lovely place that has pretty much everything one needs. I love that it is so close to
Durban. When we feel a bit suffocated we just take a 40 minute drive into Durban and it
feels like a mini holiday 🙂

How many Com Serve speech therapists are placed there?
There are 2 of us and 1 permanent speech therapist.

How many are placed in your district?
I do not have an exact number off hand but I know there are quite a few due to the
systems error when placing us in our year.

What is your accommodation arrangement?
My fiancé and I are renting a townhouse 20 minutes away from the hospital.

What adventures have you gone on?
We have tried to go on as many adventures as possible to make the most of our
time in KZN. We have tried all the breakfast places, coffeeshops, the beaches, and
the Drakensberg. To sum it up we have followed our stomach to many different
restaurants and explored beaches, golf courses and hikes in between 🙂

What advice would you give to someone choosing their placement?
Moving away from home has its pro’s and con’s – weight them up thoroughly when
deciding where to apply. It is great to be independent but with independence
comes a lot of responsibility. Food, accommodation, petrol and flights home
consume a lot of your salary.
On the other hand it is great to experience and new place for a year. It has also
made me really appreciate what I have back at home – before I left I was restless
and wanting a change but now I have so much love and respect for my home

Leave a Reply

